Mickey’s Christmas Carol, 1983

MickeysChristmasCarolBecause I’ve been fighting a bad cold, I missed yesterday’s entry. That’s too bad, because yesterday was the anniversary of the release of my next A Christmas Carol fix. I’m talking about Mickey’s Christmas Carol from 1983.

It’s well known that when this was released, it was the first appearance by Mickey Mouse in a new feature in 30 years. Even though this was a theatrical release, most are probably more familiar with it via annual television airings. The first time I saw it was its television debut when it was a mere 1 year old, then I purchased the first VHS release.  I’ve known many who are sentimentally attached to this animated version as the one they “grew up with.”  I don’t have this attachment as I was in my twenties the first time I saw it; the ’70’s animated versions were my kid-verisons.

The first time I watched it I wasn’t overly impressed. I didn’t dislike it but I originally thought it mediocre in terms of A Christmas Carol adaptations. After all, this is the ultimate Disnification of ACC as it’s actually Disney. I always really liked Disney’s full length films but was never a fan of their short subjects or characters; by the 1970’s I was a big Fleisher devotee and I thought Disney and Fleisher were polar opposites. I’ve softened up a bit over the years. What I liked first and foremost in this version is the Disney quality, which many felt it lacked at the time. This version has grown on me over time though admittedly more because of its familiarity and superior quality than many animated versions that have followed it.

1983Disney first did an audio album of A Christmas Carol in the 1970’s. This was the inspiration for the animated short version. The “cast” is pretty much the same from the audio album. It seems that many of Disney’s regular characters were almost tailor-made for ACC. Scrooge McDuck is the obvious choice to play his namesake, Scrooge. Donald Duck, McDuck’s nephew, naturally would be Scrooge’s nephew, Fred. Mickey Mouse is Bob Cratchit in an oddly small role. The Ghosts are all good choices from the Disney stable: Jiminy Cricket as the Ghost of the Past, Willie the Giant is the Present, and the cigar smoking Pete as Yet to Come. Many other Disney characters appear in speaking roles and cameos.

The story is a traditional adaptation of A Christmas Carol combined with Disney family humor of the period it was made. The short is less than 30 minutes, so a truncated adaptation is no surprise. To be fair, I cannot complain about too many missing elements. But in the adaptation, there are still the basics of what is needed for the story.

This is a good version for children or especially if you’re a Disney fan. For me, it will never be one of the great versions yet it’s much better than many others in the animated realm.

Missing

Quite a bit is missing, as should be expected in a 25 minute version, but here are some standouts:

  • Scrooge’s school
  • Fan
  • Nephew’s wife and visit to nephew
  • Ignorance & Want
  • Pretty much all darker elements

Leave a comment